Junkie’s 2010 Week 15 Pickups

15 12 2010

It’s now official. 99% of leagues are now into the playoffs. Crongrats! So here is another list chock-full of guys that are going to try really hard to show that they aren’t just one-hit-wonders of the gridiron. Play close attention, as one or two of these guys may be exactly what your team needs.

1. Owen Daniels: I hate to put him here since he’s been terrible but he did get double-digit targets this past week. It also helped that the Texans were playing catchup the entire game. Plus he lost me a bet, dang you Daniels!

2. Mike Goodson/Jonathan Stewart: The Carolina Panthers may not be committed to winning but they sure have found their stride at running. Where was this O-Line at the beginning of the year? Deangelo Williams is asking himself the same question. Both of these guys are getting it done and should be owned.

3. Ryan Torrain: Did you see his stat line from the first quarter! He was ridiculous. And the Redskins still find a way to lose. Sorry Mathew Berry.

4. Jahvid Best: Ok, so he has been bad but he did get 13 carries against the Packers in a close game. And he has the Bucs this week. Don’t expect too much, but if you are in a PPR league and desperate, I might take a shot.

5. Tim Hightower: It’s obvious that the Cardinals feel he is the better all-round back. And he should see double-digit carries the rest of the way. Probably a deep league RB3. He used to be a decent PPR flex but hasn’t seen many balls through the air this year.

6. David Buehler: Now I wouldn’t normally put kickers here but it’s the playoffs any help is good… eh, he’s a darn kicker. He has two good match-ups with the Redskins and Cardinals.

7. Old Man Derick Mason: In three games this year that he has seen double-digit targets, he has been superb. And this week could be a shootout with the Saints. If by chance, he’s available, I go snatch him up.

8. Alex Smith: He looked really good against the Seahawks. But has the Chargers this week. Look for him to be on the pickups for week 16 with the Rams and Cardinals on the slate to close out the season.

9. Kerry Collins: I put a second QB here because there are a lot of Kyle Orton owners not sure what to do with him. I’m in a 16 team salary keeper league and Orton has gotten me to the playoffs. But we start 1 QB and all teams must carry two on their roster. Because of salary cap issues, most teams only have one decent QB. My dilemma is dropping Orton in favor of Collins. I think it’s time, thank you Kyle for a mostly great season but it’s the playoffs. And Kerry just has a tasty matchup with the Texans. Sorry.

10. Kellogg’s Raisin Bran Crunch: Possibly my new favorite cereal. It is just delicious.

-FFJ


Actions

Information

25 responses

15 12 2010
Frog

LOL @ Kellogs Raisin Bran

15 12 2010
Frog

Another tough one man. Santonio Holmes against Pittsburgh or Mike Williams (TB) against Detroit?

15 12 2010
Rob

Grape Nuts fan for life! But, I’ll have to try your Raisin Bran Crunch…is this a new formula or the one that’s been around forever?

My team:
Schaub/Freeman ; Bradshaw, FelixJones, BJax, RonnieBrown, Lynch, Dixon, Starks ; Bowe, Austin, Williams (TB), MikeThomas ; Witten ; Chargers; Succop
His team:
Vick ; Green-Ellis, Choice, LT ; RoddyWhite, Branch, Britt, Tate ; Tamme, Fassano ; Bears ; Carpenter (this guy has dropped Knox, Moss, Driver, and the Broncos, so he’ll make 4 pickups,,,we have waiver priority so he’ll get the first pickup since I picked up the Chargers late last week)

Best Available – Collins, Campbell ; RickyWilliams, JavarrisJames, Goodson ; LouisMurphy, BrandonGibson, BlairWhite ; Daniels, Scaife ; Cowboys, Dolphins ; Buehler

One of the issues I’m dealing with in my two week final matchup for the league championship is not giving my opponent an advantage. He’s really weak at RB, so I’m hoping to ditch Lynch and BJax to get James and Goodson. My guess is that he’ll go for those two, as well, so I’ll only get one, if I’m lucky. I’m prioritizing James first, then Goodson. As a backup plan, I’m looking at Owen Daniels for Lynch/BJax in the likely event I don’t get both 1 and 2 targets. I’m also wanting the Dolphins based on their week 15/16 matchups, but not sure I should ditch SD since they’ve got a nice matchup for week 15. Finally, based on your thoughts, I’ll give up Succop for Buehler.

Any thoughts…how would you handicap this matchup?

Thanks again for the advice…love you site!!!

15 12 2010
fantasyfootballjunkie

Hey Rob, I would go after Goodson before going after James but if you can get both that would be great to stick it to your opponent. I love the idea of picking up players even though they might not play on your team.

Looking closer at his team, his RB’s are terrible. I would rather start Goodson over LT and Choice. Goodson has had 5 good fantasy games in a row, and works KR duty if that matters. I wouldn’t bother with Daniels at this point though. It was one game in which they threw a ton and you have Witten. I would maybe go after Donald Driver instead assuming it was Randy Moss and not Santana Moss he dropped. Driver still got 9 targets in that game against the Lions. Just too bad it was Flynn throwing.

15 12 2010
Frog

let me rephrase that..lol out of these three which 2 would you start? Santonio holmes, Anquan Boldin or Mike Williams?

15 12 2010
Rob

ps…btw,,,his reciever is Golden Tate, not Brandon

15 12 2010
Rob

Hey Frog, I’m hardly an expert, but you have a real issue there. My first instinct would be to sit Williams or Bouldin. NO is nasty against the pass, but with Bal at home, they could hang with the Saints and it might turn into a shootout. I have Williams on my team and his game has turned somewhat inconsistent, esp with the emergence of Bean (sp). I really like Holmes this week, dropped balls and all, even though Sanchez has cooled off significantly. If I had to not play one, I’d probably talk myself into sitting Williams. Boldin is a great reciever, afterall. That’s my pretty worthless take, anyway. Curious what the boss has to say!

15 12 2010
fantasyfootballjunkie

I gotta go with Holmes and Williams. Boldin was great the first half of the year it seemed but extremely mediocre in 3 of his last 4. But if you choose to roll with Boldin I like Holmes more than Williams. If it weren’t for a terrible drop in the endzone, when he was the only player close to the ball, he would have had another nice fantasy performance. And Mike has the obvious matchup potential with the Lions awful secondary.

15 12 2010
Frog

Thanks guys. Yeah I’ve been leaning towards Holmes and Williams myself. Boldin is great but I’m not impressed with his performance against a rookie corner from Houston last week. Williams has made me nervous lately as well, but he does have a good matchup against Detroit (sorry) so I guess I’
ll roll with Williams and Holmes. Actually I think Holmes might have a halfway decent day against his old team. It’s not like the steelers Pass D has been spectacular.

Another thing of note is that Kevin Ogletree (Dal) was recently placed on IR today which might actually make Roy Williams relevant this week as a high risk/reward option against Washington.

15 12 2010
hurricanejroseff

hey Frog, if you want my input start boldin and williams. don’t have much confidence in jets offense, especially going against pitt. CINNAMON TOAST CRUNCH!

15 12 2010
Frog

haha yeah its so tough man..so tough..lol I at least know that Holmes will get targeted plenty. Boldin will get a fair share of targets most likely but the Saints Pass D is very good and Derick Mason has been Flacco’s fav target lately..I at least know that Holmes is Sanchez;s fav target even though Sanchez has been fairly bad lately..This one is truly a coin flip I’m afraid. I wish I had better options..lol

15 12 2010
Frog

Lucky Charms!!

15 12 2010
fantasyfootballjunkie

I do love Lucky Charms.

15 12 2010
fantasyfootballjunkie

Hurricane, I also have no trust in the Jets offense but Santonio had been the one bright spot for them. I think he does fine against the Steelers this week. But the Steel Curtain should shut-down the run.

15 12 2010
hurricanejroseff

junkie, pal, bud, i have so many decisions to make. i’d like to hear your thoughts – here’s the rundown…

League 1:
WRs pick 1: TB Mike, Wallace, Sidney
RBs pick 1: Benson, Felix, Best, Ivory

League 2:
RBs Pick 2: Goodson, Torain, Felix, Forte
WRs Pick 2: Coltson, T.O., Bowe OR pick 1 + one of the leftover RBs

15 12 2010
fantasyfootballjunkie

League One:
WR- I like Sidney as long as Jackson or Favre plays. Otherwise I like Williams. Those are all good options really though. Tough call.
RB- I like Benson at home vs the Browns.

League Two:
RB- Really Tough. I have to say Goodson for sure against the Cards. And I like Forte for the sole fact that he’s the guy. For sure you know he’s going to get the work. And the way the Giants ran all over them makes me happy starting him. Plus the game will be outdoors instead of the friendly confines of the Metrodome.
WR- Colston has been the hot receiver, gotta take him. Darn you Bowe, two doughnuts in a row! And you were doing so good. Theoretical gun to my head, I would take… Ryan Torrain. Ugh, that was hard!

15 12 2010
hurricanejroseff

i love goodson against the cards, and i’ve started forte pretty much every week. interesting pick on Torain, i was leaning toward starting Bowe or TO in my flex spot, but torain really might be the best play. well, at least i’m down to picking a flex in league 2.

15 12 2010
Frog

League 1 I’d go with

WR’s: TB mike and Sidney Rice
RB’s: Benson and Felix

League 2 is tough..lol
WR’s: Colston and Bowe (assuming Cassel looks ret-2-go) Forte in your rb/wr spot if he doesn’t..
RB’s: Torain and Felix

That’s just my two cents and I know you weren’t asking me but I couldn’t help myself..lol

15 12 2010
fantasyfootballjunkie

Hey Frog, help is good. That’s what were all trying to do. Sometimes another person will see it from a different angle and that is what helps a manager go with a pick. Comment away!

15 12 2010
Frog

Thanks T. gotta say that your advice has always been very well grounded in logic and even though I consider myself a seasoned Fantasy player you have been most helpful in helping me figure things out and even helped me win a few close matchups..

15 12 2010
hurricanejroseff

i welcome all opinions, frog. however, in League 1 you can only pick one of each. in league 2 i’m leaning toward torain and goodson. the wrs are tough, colston has a lousy matchup, Bowe is great if Cassel can go and TO decided to mouth off about his coaches this week, which makes me nervous

15 12 2010
Frog

I like goodson too but he only reason I said felix is because the washington rush D is pitiful and choice looks to be in the doghouse aside from not being used much even before he got vicks autograph..lol Goodson does have a great matchup against AZ though but he’s going to def share carries with Stewart. So even though the AZ rush D is slightly worse than the Wash Rush D I just have to wonder which of the two between Goodson and Felix Jones will get used more. It’s tough though and you are certainly on track about not placing a lot of trust in Bowe this week..

15 12 2010
Frog

Joe Webb

Hey guys check this out..This “might” be a possible solution for anyone who is struggling at WR with injuries or bad matchups etc. Not saying I advise this, but it is somewhat intriguing.

(12/15/10) According to Judd Zulgad of the Minneapolis Star-Tribune, it “sounds like” rookie Joe Webb will be the Vikings’ starting quarterback on Monday Night Football against the Bears. And he’s going to make for an interesting flex play in fantasy leagues. A number of scoring formats list Webb as a “QB, WR” because he was originally drafted to play wideout. Webb therefore has receiver eligibility, and isn’t a bad bet for 30-plus rushing yards, about 130 passing, and perhaps a touchdown despite a highly unfavorable matchup and conditions at TCF Bank Stadium. It’s bad news, of course, for Vikings pass catchers.

15 12 2010
fantasyfootballjunkie

Frog, awesome! Going to make a post on this tonight or early tomorrow. And also just picked him up in a league.

15 12 2010
Frog

Thanks T.

I picked him up in one too and might pick him up in a couple more. I’ve been thinking about it. Lordy knows a couple of my leagues im in the playoffs in a few of my players have been cold lately and if this guy does start at WR then it could be a big advantage for me or at least a bit of a safety net for some points.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

